Requiem for the Fallen - Auckland Arts Festival

March 2015

As part of the programme for Auckland Arts Festival 2015, the New Zealand String Quartet will be joined by the chamber choir of Voices New Zealand along with Horomona Horo and tenor Richard Greager in this wonderful concert conducted by Karen Grylls. Requiem for the Fallen is a powerful and moving musical drama written in commemoration of World War I by composer Ross Harris, Poet Laureate Vincent O'Sullivan and taonga puoro composer Horomona Horo.

The work interweaves text from the Requiem Mass with poetry, taonga puoro and string quartet. This is a real reflection upon New Zealand's remarkable role in World War I and the effect it has had on the entire country over the past 100 years.

Requiem for the Fallen was commissioned for the 2014 New Zealand Arts Festival, by the New Zealand String Quartet Trust and Voices New Zealand Chamber Choir with funding from Creative New Zealand.

The Auckland Arts Festival performance of Requiem for the Fallen is kindly supported by Kiwibank and Peter & Carolyn Diessl.

Purcell Hear my prayer
Messiaen O Sacrum Convivium
Beethoven Molto adagio from String Quartet in A minor Opus 132 
Schnittke Drei geistliche Gesänge
Harris Requiem for the Fallen 

1 hour, 20 minutes

Ticket Prices:
$28 - $68

Photo Credit: Troopship Ruapehu at Port Chalmers. Collection of Tōitu Otago Settlers Museum.

Requiem for the Fallen - Auckland Arts Festival - Auckland

Auckland Town Hall
Requiem for the Fallen
Ticket Prices
$28 - $68


Requiem for the Fallen

The New Zealand String Quartet Gratefully Acknowledges its sponsors and funders