Piers Lane & Hiroshi Ikematsu Wellington

October 2018

Try googling “the ten most popular chamber music works of all time”. There are lots of lists but you’ll find Schubert’s “Trout” Quintet is on every one of them and it justly forms the centrepiece of this exquisite exploration of aquatic themes.

Programmed alongside Schubert and Rossini, CMNZ have commissioned Ross Harris to write a meditation on the trout fishing rivers near Turangi. His Orowaru – the rippling sound of water – was inspired, the composer says, by ‘the complex harmonic beauty of the rivers’.

Selling out performances at Wigmore Hall and frequently appearing with the Sydney Symphony and London Philharmonic, pianist Piers Lane joins members of the New Zealand String Quartet and audience favourite, Hiroshi Ikematsu. Currently Principal Bassist with the Tokyo Metropolitan Symphony Orchestra, Ikematsu is a virtuoso with a huge personality as we learned from his years in the NZSO.

Here is a truly special season finale that celebrates another year of good music – up close.


Schubert - Adagio and Rondo Concertante, D.487

Rossini - Duo in D for Cello and Double bass 

Ross Harris - Orowaru (CMNZ Commission for the Quintet)

Schubert - Piano Quintet in A Major, D.667 ("Trout")

Piers Lane & Hiroshi Ikematsu Wellington - Wellington

Michael Fowler Centre
Ticket Prices

The New Zealand String Quartet gratefully acknowledges its sponsors and funders