Touring the Trout

17 August 2018 / News

Schubert’s ‘Trout’ Quintet is, without a doubt, one of the most popular chamber music works of all time – a favourite with performers and audiences alike – but because of its rather unusual instrumentation (piano, violin, viola, cello and double bass) it’s not performed as often as one might expect. We’re thrilled to have the opportunity to tour this work for Chamber Music New Zealand with two musicians we admire enormously: well-known pianist Piers Lane and former NZSO Principal Double Bass Hiroshi Ikematsu.

As a partner piece for the Trout, and staying with the theme of fishing, CMNZ has commissioned our good friend Ross Harris to write a work for the same instrumentation. Orowaru – the rippling sound of water – was inspired bywhat Ross describes as ‘the complex harmonic beauty’ of the trout fishing rivers near Turangi.

The concert will also see us perform Schubert’s Adagio and Rondo Concertante with Piers, and Rolf will play Rossini’s Duo in D for cello and double bass with Hiroshi.

Since the works on this programme call for just one violin, Helene is generously stepping aside for Monique to play on this tour, but somehow we don’t think she’ll be putting her feet up in October! She already has a couple of concerts arranged with NZSM colleague and pianist Jian Liu – watch this space…

In preparation for the Trout tour, we thought you might like to see this wonderful documentary we found on You Tube, featuring a quintet of legendary artists: Daniel Barenboim, Itzhak Perlman, Pinchas Zucherman, Jacqueline Du Pré, and Zubin Mehta. 



Latest News

Chamber Music New Zealand: Encompass Series 2019

10 April 2019     /     News

As part of Chamber Music New Zealand’s Encompass Series, we’ll be performing five concerts across the country between 27 April and 5 May. Each concert will include the late New Zealand composer Jack Body’s piece Bai Sanxian.
Read More

The countdown is on for our 2019 National Tour

10 April 2019     /     News

You don’t have long to wait now before our 2019 National Tour! In June and July we’re coming to some of the country’s loveliest historic and modern venues, so be in quick to secure your spot for a warming mid-winter experience.
Read More

2019 National Tour

28 February 2019     /     News

We’re incredibly excited to announce we’re hitting the road even earlier than usual this year for our 2019 National Tour! Our first concert will be in Featherston on 28 June, then it’s off to another eight cities to give twelve more concerts.
Read More

The New Zealand String Quartet gratefully acknowledges its sponsors and funders