City of London Festival

July 2015

City of London Festival

The New Zealand String Quartet returns to the City of London Festival with a programme of classics by Haydn, Stravinsky and Brahms, in addition to Variation 25, a single movement for string quartet inspired by the 25th variation of Bach’s Goldberg Variations and written especially for the Quartet by New Zealand Arts Laureate Ross Harris.

First violinist Helene Pohl describes New Zealand String Quartet performances as ‘intense’ experiences, thanks to the 'keen interest that the audience brings to the music'; this will no doubt be the case at the group’s intimate performance in Goldsmiths’ Hall. After two storming performances at the Merchant Taylors’ Hall in 2011, the New Zealand String Quartet’s performance this year promises to be most magic, when their powerful performance style is enriched by the lavish, luxurious surrounding of the most opulent of the City of London’s ancient livery halls.

'A quartet to match the finest anywhere… it’s hard to imagine that anyone hearing these four players would not be instantly captivated by their living breathing musicianship' (The Australian, Sydney)

City of London Festival - London

Start Date
End Date
Goldsmiths’ Hall
City of London Festival
Ticket Prices
£23, £12


City of London Festival

Ross Harris Variation 25

Haydn String Quartet Op 54 No 2 ‘Gypsy’

Stravinsky Three Pieces

Brahms String Quartet No 3 Op 67

The New Zealand String Quartet gratefully acknowledges its sponsors and funders

Major Sponsor