National Tour 2020: BEETHOVEN

We regret to advise the postponement of our June and July concerts due to the ongoing COVID-19 (Coronavirus) situation. We are hugely disappointed to miss the opportunity to perform for you all; however, our number one priority is the health and safety of our audiences, musicians and staff, and the wider community. We ask everyone to look after themselves and each other during this time and continue to monitor and follow government advice.

This year we’re celebrating a massive composer with a massive tour. The 2020 National Tour brings Beethoven back on his 250th birthday, travelling throughout New Zealand between June and October. Written throughout his life, Beethoven’s string quartets remain, like his symphonies, some of the most remarkable classical music ever composed. Don’t miss this extraordinary music on tour. 

Reset your expectations at each of these exceptional and individual quartets. Prepare yourself to trace Beethoven’s evolution from brilliant classicist to daring modernist. Acclaimed world-wide for our performances of Beethoven’s music, join us for an unforgettable programme of Beethoven’s String Quartets.

“No Beethoven celebration can be joyful enough. It’s almost like celebrating the birthday of music itself.”

Leonard Bernstein

TOUR DATES AND VENUES

DATE LOCATION VENUE TIME PROGRAMME
Thu 12 Mar Whanganui Prince Edward Auditorium 7:30pm Chamber Music Wanganui
FINISHED
Fri 5 Jun Napier Church Road Winery 7:30pm Innovator
Sat 6 Jun Auckland Ellen Melville Centre 7:30pm Illuminator
Sun 7 Jun Auckland The Rose Centre 3:00pm Innovator
Tue 9 Jun New Plymouth Alexandra Room, TSB Showplace 7:30pm Innovator
Fri 12 Jun Christchurch The Piano 7:30pm Illuminator
Sat 13 Jun Akaroa Trinity Church 3:00pm Innovator
Sun 14 Jun Timaru Aigantighe Art Gallery 4:00pm Immortal
Fri 3 Jul Tauranga Huria Marae 7:30pm Illuminator
Sat 4 Jul Rotorua Prince's Gate Hotel 7:30pm Innovator
Sun 5 Jul Taupō Millenium Hotel 3:00pm Immortal
Wed 12 Aug Napier MTG Century Theatre 7:30pm Universal
Fri 14 Aug Hamilton Gallagher Academy of Performing Arts 7:30pm Universal
Sat 15 Aug Auckland Holy Trinity Church Devonport 7:30pm Immortal
Sun 16 Aug Auckland Pah Homestead 6:00pm Universal
Thu 20 Aug Christchurch The Piano 7:30pm Icon
Fri 21 Aug Nelson Nelson Centre of Musical Arts 7:30pm Universal
Sat 22 Aug Nelson Nelson Centre of Musical Arts 7:30pm Maestro
Sun 23 Aug Blenheim Cloudy Bay Vineyards 1:00pm Illuminator
Sun 23 Aug Blenheim Cloudy Bay Vineyards 5:00pm Innovator
Wed 2 Sep Tauranga Baycourt X Space 7:30pm Icon
Thu 3 Sep Hamilton Gallagher Academy of Performing Arts 7:30pm Visionary
Fri 4 Sep Waiheke Island Morra Hall 7:30pm Icon
Sat 5 Sep Auckland Parnell Community Centre 7:30pm Visionary
Sun 6 Sep Kerikeri Turner Centre 4:00pm Universal
Fri 11 Sep Wellington St Andrew's on The Terrace 7:30pm Illuminator
Sun 13 Sep Wellington Seatoun Village Hall 2:30pm Innovator
Wed 16 Sep Wellington Public Trust Building 7:30pm Immortal
Sat 19 Sep Wellington Khandallah Town Hall 2:30pm Universal
Wed 23 Sep Paekākāriki St Peter’s Village Hall 7:30pm Icon
Fri 25 Sep Wellington Hunter Council Chamber 7:30pm Visionary
Fri 16 Oct Dunedin St Paul's Cathedral 12:00pm Programme information to be announced in 2020.
Sat 17 Oct Oamaru Oamaru Opera House 7:30pm Virtuoso
Sun 18 Oct Queenstown Queenstown Memorial Centre
5:00pm Icon
Tue 20 Oct Wanaka Lake Centre Main Auditorium 7:30pm Virtuoso
Wed 21 Oct Cromwell The Cloudy Bay Shed 6:00pm Maestro
Thu 22 Oct Christchurch The Piano 7:30pm Visionary

PROGRAMMES

Chamber Music Wanganui

String Quartet Op. 18, No. 6

String Quartet Op. 59, No. 3

String Quartet Op. 132

Illuminator

String Quartet Opus 18, No 3 (1801)

String Quartet Opus 18, No 1 (1801)

String Quartet Opus 59, No 1 (1808)

Innovator

String Quartet Opus 18, No 2 (1801)

String Quartet Opus 74 (1809)

String Quartet Opus 59, No 2 (1808)

Immortal

String Quartet Opus 18, No 4 (1801)

String Quartet Opus 18, No 5 (1801)

String Quartet Opus 59, No 3 (1808)

Universal

String Quartet Opus 18, No 6 (1801)

String Quartet Opus 95 (1814)

String Quartet Opus 127 (1825)

Icon

String Quartet Opus 135 (1826)

String Quartet Opus 130 (1826)

String Quartet Opus 132 (1825)

Visionary

String Quartet Opus 130 (1825)

String Quartet Opus 133 (1825)

String Quartet Opus 131 (1826)

Maestro

String Quartet Opus 18, No 4 (1801)

String Quartet Opus 135 (1826)

String Quartet Opus 59, No 1 (1808)

Virtuoso

String Quartet Opus 18, No 3 (1801)

String Quartet Opus 95 (1814)

String Quartet Opus 130 (1825)

Programme information to be announced in 2020.

Stay tuned for more details to appear here shortly.

The New Zealand String Quartet gratefully acknowledges its sponsors and funders